La Salle County Election Results

In La Salle County contested races, Democrat challenger Todd Martin upended incumbent Republican State’s Attorney Karen Donnelly 26,215 to 24,497 or 52 percent to 48.  For county auditor, Republican Stephanie Jo Thompson outdistanced Democrat Nikki Baer 27,691 to 21,869 or 56 percent to 44.  For county board chairman, Republican Donald Jensen had 26,229 votes to Democrat Jim Olson’s 23,123.  That’s 53 percent to 47.  For County Board District 15, Republican Douglas Stockley had 1,087 votes to Democrat Tom McNamara’s 969.

La Salle County voters rejected the “progressive tax” 34,036 to 15,641 or 69 percent to 31.  In the presidential race, La Salle County voters favored incumbent Republicans Donald Trump and Mike Pence over Democrat challengers Joe Biden and Kamala Harris 57 percent to 41.  For the U.S. Senate, Republican challenger Mark Curran Jr. received 52 percent of the vote to incumbent Democrat Richard Durbin’s 43.  Republican U.S. Representative Adam Kinzinger was favored by La Salle County voters over Democrat challenger Dani Brzozowski 62 percent to 38.

La Salle County voters said yes to retaining judges Tom Kilbride, Mary McDade, Gene Daugherity and Joseph Hettel.  La Salle County’s voter turnout was 79 percent.

Election results will not be final until November 17.  La Salle County still has about 1,686 mail-in ballots to be counted.

Submit a Comment