The Rolling Stones releasing high-speed-mastered vinyl reissues of 10 albums in May

Here’s some happy Rolling Stones news as fans wait to find out when the band’s recently postponed 2020 North American tour will be rescheduled. Half-speed-mastered, 180-gram vinyl versions of 10 of the British rock icons’ studio albums will be released on May 8.

The titles being reissued are, in chronological order, 1974’s It’s Only Rock ‘n’ Roll, 1976’s Black and Blue, 1980’s Emotional Rescue, 1981’s Tattoo You, 1983’s Undercover, 1986’s Dirty Work, 1989’s Steel Wheels, 1994’s Voodoo Lounge, 1997’s Bridges to Babylon and 2005’s A Bigger Bang.

Three of the albums — Voodoo Lounge, Bridges to Babylon and A Bigger Bang — will be released as two-LP sets.

It’s Only Rock ‘n’ Roll, Black and Blue, Emotional Rescue and Tattoo You all topped the Billboard 200, while Voodoo Lounge reached #2; Steel Wheels, Bridges to Babylon and A Bigger Bang peaked at #3; and Undercover and Dirty Work went to #4 on the chart.

All 10 of the albums were certified at least platinum for sales of 1 million copies in the U.S. Tattoo You went four-times platinum, while Emotional Rescue, Steel Wheels and Voodoo Lounge were certified double platinum.

Among the many hits and memorable songs appearing on the various albums are “It’s Only Rock ‘n’ Roll,” “Ain’t Too Proud to Beg,” “Dance Little Sister,” “Fool to Cry,” “Hot Stuff,” “Memory Motel,” “Emotional Rescue,” “She’s So Cold,” “Start Me Up,” “Waiting on a Friend,” “Hang Fire,” “Undercover of the Night,” “She Was Hot,” “Harlem Shuffle,” “One Hit (To the Body),” “Mixed Emotions,” “Rock and a Hard Place,” “Love Is Strong,” “Anybody Seen My Baby?,” “Saint of Me,” “Streets of Love” and “Rough Justice.”

You can pre-order the vinyl reissues now.

Copyright © 2020, ABC Audio. All rights reserved.

Submit a Comment