Jorma Kaukonen, Mitch Ryder, John Sebastian featured on new album by veteran bluesman Joe Louis Walker

The Jefferson Airplane‘s Jorma Kaukonen, Detroit soul legend Mitch Ryder and John Sebastian of The Lovin’ Spoonful are among the guest musicians featured on the latest album by blues veteran Joe Louis Walker, Blues Comin’ On, which will be released on June 5.

Kaukonen appears on Blues Comin’ On’s lead track, “Feed the Poor,” while Ryder contributes his talents to a tune called “Come Back Home.” Sebastian plays harmonica on “Old Time Used to Be,” which also features Keb’ Mo’. That song has been released as the album’s first single, and is available now as a digital download and via streaming services.

Other well-known artists featured on Walker’s album include David Bromberg, acclaimed session and touring guitarists Waddy Wachtel and Albert Lee, and two founding members of The Time — drummer Jellybean Johnson and guitarist Jesse Johnson.

“From the opening track to the final note, the guests and fellow musicians on this album made this one of the best musical journeys I’ve ever had,” says Walker. “I hope it’s the same for you!”

Blues Comin’ On will be issued on CD, digitally, and as a limited-edition white-vinyl LP. You can pre-order the record now at

Here’s the album’s full track list:

“Feed the Poor” — featuring Jorma Kaukonen
“Blues Comin’ On” — featuring Eric Gales
“Someday, Someway” — featuring Carla Cooke & Lee Oskar
“The Thang” — featuring Jesse Johnson
“Old Time Used to Be” — featuring Keb’ Mo’ & John Sebastian
“Come Back Home” — featuring Mitch Ryder
“Bowlegged Woman, Knock-Kneed Man” — featuring Waddy Wachtel
“Awake Me Shake Me” — featuring Carla Cooke
“Lonely Weekends” — featuring David Bromberg
“Seven More Steps” — featuring Albert Lee
“Uptown to Harlem” — featuring Jellybean Johnson
“7 & 7 Is” — featuring Arlen Roth & Charlie Harper

Copyright © 2020, ABC Audio. All rights reserved.

Submit a Comment