Kaleo announces new album, ‘Surface Sounds’

Kaleo will drop a new album called Surface Sounds on June 5.

The follow-up to the Icelandic rock outfit’s 2016 effort A/B includes the previously released songs “I Want More” and “Break My Baby,” as well as a brand-new track called “Alter Ego,” which you can download now via digital outlets.

“First off, I wanted to acknowledge the uncertainty and anxiety that everyone is facing today,” says frontman JJ Julius Son, referring to the COVID-19 coronavirus outbreak. “We considered postponing this announcement, but that also didn’t seem right as we all strive for any shred of normalcy.”

“Times like this remind us of what matters most,” he continues. “Instinctively as human beings we shift our focus from the superficial to collectively supporting our neighbors. That sentiment is actually echoed in Surface Sounds. My hope now is that the album can serve as a reminder that what is on the surface is not nearly as important as what is inside, and it’s our duty to lift one another up in times of need.”

Kaleo will launch their Fight or Flight U.S. headlining tour in support of Surface Sounds July 1 in Portland, Oregon.

Here’s the Surface Sounds track list:

“Brother Run Fast”
“Break My Baby”
“Alter Ego”
“Free the Slave”
“Hey Gringo”
“The USA Today”
“My Fair Lady”
“I Want More”
“I Walk on Water”
“Into My Mother’s Arms”

Copyright © 2020, ABC Audio. All rights reserved.

Submit a Comment